What Is Spirulina?

Picture
Spirulina is a type of microscopic blue-green algae called cyanobacterium. It is said that the Aztecs gave it to their warriors for strength and endurance. For centuries, Spirulina (also called Manna in some cultures) has constituted an important part of the diet in many communities, for it is a true superfood.

Spirulina is considered one of the most nutritious super-foods because it contains non-toxic vitamin A in the form of caratinoids, B vitamins, minerals, trace elements, antioxidants, chlorophyll, and phytonutrients. It is over 60% “complete” protein, which is easy to digest. Spirulina is considered a complete protein because it contains all of the 22 essential amino acids needed to make a protein complete.

The Health Benefits of Spirulina are:

     1. Reduce fatigue

     2. Improve digestion

     3. Appetite Control

     4. Support Liver and Kidneys

     5. Reduce Inflammation

     6. Nature’s Detoxifier-high chlorophyll content

     7. Boosts Immune System

How do I take Spirulina?

Picture
Spirulina can be added to fresh juices, smoothies, or simply to water. Since it is 100% pure powder, Spirulina will mix easily. You can consume it first thing in the morning or in-between meals; perhaps sometimes for a quick afternoon boost.

Personally, I have used Spirulina at different times throughout the day. I have found that on the busy mornings when I don’t have time to juice, I mix it with water and it helps regulate my blood sugar levels, which sets me up with tons of sustained energy throughout the day. My personal best time to take Spirulina is right before I go to bed since I have noticed a dramatic difference in the levels of energy when I wake up. Give it a try and play around with it by adding it to fresh juices, smoothies, or simply add water. This nutrient-packed superfood is a powerful addition to any lifestyle.

7/14/2013 05:30:00 pm

Nice blog, informative.

www.dxnbarcelona.dxnnet.com

Reply



Leave a Reply.